first_imgRishabh Pant slammed his maiden and the 50th hundred in the history of the Indian Premier League overall as Delhi Daredevils took on the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi.However, his efforts went in vain as fifties from Shikhar Dhawan (92*) and Kane Williamson (83*) helped SRH beat Delhi by nine wickets and seal the first playoff spot in this year’s IPL.But, Pant’s innings was nothing short of spectacular. He slammed his hundred off 56 balls and then finished off with an unbeaten 128 off 63 balls as DD posted 187/5 from their 20 overs.The 20-year-old hit 15 boundaries and seven maximums in his 63-ball knock on Thursday.He also became the second youngest to hit a century in IPL. Manish Pandey, who now plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad, remains the youngest IPL centurion. Back in 2009, he had hammered a hundred for Royal Challengers Bangalore, aged 19 years and 253 days. Sanju Samson is now the third youngest – he had scored a hundred for DD last year when he was 22 years and 151 days.Quinton de Kock (23 years and 122 days) and David Warner (23 years and 153 days) are fourth and fifth respectively in the list of youngest IPL centurions.He also became the Orange Cap holder in IPL 2018, with 521 runs from 11 matches. The 20-year-old has one century and three fifties in this year’s IPL. The diminutive wicket-keeper batsman has smashed 56 boundaries and 27 maximums in IPL 2018 so far. He is now tied with Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the list of most sixes in this edition of the IPL. However, he leads the charts in terms of boundaries. KL Rahul is second with 53 fours.advertisementHe is now also the highest score by an Indian batsman in the IPL. He overtook Murali Vijay’s 127 for CSK vs RR in Chennai back in 2010.Pant’s ton was the 17th ton by an Indian in the IPL and he is the 12th Indian overall to hit a century. Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli has hit the most number of centuries (4) by an Indian while Chris Gayle has the most (6) overall. Other than these two, AB de Villiers, David Warner and Shane Watson have hit three centuries each.Brendon McCullum (158* versus RCB) was the first ton in the history of IPL while Pant’s ton was the latest.Here are all the centuries in the history of IPL cricket:Brendon McCullum (KKR) 158* vs RCB in 2008Mike Hussey (CSK) 116* vs KXIP in 2008Andrew Symonds (Deccan Chargers) 117* vs RR in 2008Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers) 109* vs MI in 2008Sanath Jayasuriya (MI) 114* vs CSK in 2008Shaun Marsh (KXIP) 115 vs RR in 2008AB de Villiers (DD) 105* CSK in 2009Manish Pandey (RCB) 114* vs DC in 2009Yusuf Pathan (RR) 100 vs MI in 2010David Warner (DD) 107* vs KKR in 2010Murali Vijay (CSK) 127 vs RR in 2010Mahela Jayawardene (KXIP) 110* vs KKR in 2010Paul Valthaty (KXIP) 120* vs CSK in 2011Sachin Tendulkar (MI) 100* vs Kochi in 2011Chris Gayle (RCB) 102* vs KKR in 2011Virender Sehwag (DD) 119 vs DC in 2011Chris Gayle (RCB) 107 vs KXIP in 2011Adam Gilchrist (KXIP) 106 vs RCB in 2011Ajinkya Rahane (RR) 103* vs RCB in 2012Kevin Pietersen (DD) 103* vs DC in 2012David Warner (DD) 109* vs DC in 2012Rohit Sharma (MI) 109* vs KKR in 2012Chris Gayle (RCB) 128* vs DD in 2012Murali Vijay (CSK) 113 vs DD in 2012Shane Watson (RR) 101 vs CSK in 2013Chris Gayle (RCB) 175* vs PWI in 2013Suresh Raina (CSK) 100* vs KXIP in 2013David Miller (KXIP) 101* vs RCB in 2013Lendl Simmons (MI) 100* vs KXIP in 2014Virender Sehwag (KXIP) 122 vs CSK in 2014Wriddhiman Saha (KXIP) 115* vs KKR in 2014Brendon McCullum (CSK) 100* vs SRH in 2015Chris Gayle (RCB) 117 vs KXIP in 2015AB de Villiers (RCB) 133* vs MI in 2015Shane Watson (RR) 104* vs KKR in 2015Quinton de Kock (DD) 108 vs RCB in 2016Virat Kohli (RCB) 100* vs GL in 2016Steve Smith (RPS) 101 vs GL in 2016Virat Kohli (RCB) 108* vs RPS in 2016Virat Kohli (RCB) 109 vs GL in 2016AB de Villiers (RCB) 129* vs GL in 2016Virat Kohli (RCB) 113 vs KXIP in 2016Sanju Samson (DD) 102 vs RPS in 2017Hashim Amla (KXIP) 104* vs MI in 2017David Warner (SRH) 126 vs KKR in 2017Ben Stokes (RPS) 103* vs GL in 2017Hashim Amla (KXIP) 104 vs GL in 2017Chris Gayle (KXIP) 104* vs SRH in 2018Shane Watson (CSK) 106 vs RR in 2018Rishabh Pant (DD) 128* vs SRH in 2018last_img